Wed, Jul. 26th, 2006

oyceter: Two of my rats in a tissue box (rat)
  1. Renren has tried to stuff himself up my nose.

  2. Ruki has tried to stuff himself up my ear.

  3. Bya-chan likes to chew off my nail polish.

  4. Renren is Sneaky Ninja Rat and has escaped from the cage for the past three nights. I know this because he wakes me up when he sits on me.

  5. One rat (I'm quite sure it's Renren) escapes when I'm at the office and poops on the floor.

  6. Renren has taught Ruki how to escape from the cage.

  7. I am not sure if Bya-chan has learned how to escape from the cage. Perhaps he is just too sneaky to be caught.

  8. I am quite sure Fool-rat does not sneak out of the cage. He is too lazy.

  9. Aside from Renren's late-night demands for scritching, whenever I come home or wake up, the rats are still all in the cage.

  10. Except this morning, when I came in after brushing my teeth, only to find Ruki climbing around on the outside of the cage.

  11. I suspect I just caught him unaware.

  12. They may be attempting to take over the apartment, unbeknownst to me.

  13. If I randomly disappear off LJ, the rats have taken over. Send help.
oyceter: teruterubouzu default icon (Default)
[livejournal.com profile] sophia_helix brought over S1 of The office and made me watch. Well, she didn't really have to twist my arm, given how much I've heard about it from co-workers and [livejournal.com profile] vonnie_k.

What I've gathered so far:

  1. Dwight sucks.

  2. Michael grates on my nerves and I want to strangle him.

  3. Jim is really funny in the show, but would drive me crazy if I had to work with him.

  4. Pam looks very quiet and shy, but harbors an inner demon.

  5. I still hate love triangles, particularly when two corners of the triangle are engaged.

  6. I am so glad my work environment isn't like that!


The characters are more caricatures than characters right now, though I suspect that's the intention. [livejournal.com profile] sophia_helix also tells me that there's more character development in the next season.

I also find myself liking the mockumentary format, particularly the interviews, the sideways looks at the camera, the long pauses and awkward silences. I particularly like how the show uses silence and pauses. It feel real and awkward, not at all like the ba-dum-CHING effect of laughtracks in most sitcoms.

Michael annoys me so much because I've had bosses like that, who wanted to be liked so much that they ended up not doing their jobs. I'd almost rather work with Dwight, because at least he's straight forward in his nastiness. Michael's two-faced-ness really, really, really gets on my nerves, and I end up wanting to shake him or whap him or something. I mean, it's funny. It's very, very funny, but it's funny in that painful, wincing kind of way because I recognize that character all too well.

Given IBARW, I was particularly amused by the second episode, in which the entire office has to go through "Diversity Day." I started laughing hysterically when Michael described himself as "Irish, German, English, Scottish, with a little bit of Native American."

"How much?" someone asks.

"Two-fifteenths."

I'm looking forward to watching more, just for entertainment value. I'm not sure how fannish I am about it though.
Tags:

Profile

oyceter: teruterubouzu default icon (Default)
Oyceter

November 2025

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
161718 19202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Active Entries

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags