Sat, Apr. 9th, 2005

(no subject)

Sat, Apr. 9th, 2005 09:32 pm
oyceter: teruterubouzu default icon (Default)
Have been cleaning up the FL again, for assorted reasons -- fannish interests varying, some people are posting about topics that I'm finding personally painful (no fault of theirs, just what's been going on in my life recently), and it's gotten to the point where I'm skimming again and feeling too pressed for time.

I feel like there's been a lot of accumulated stress lately. And when I think about it, I feel like there's not that much to stress about, but for some reason, every day I'm just feeling tense. I don't think it's a meds thing, given that previously, tenseness would be coupled with panic attacks and fear. This is just... stress. And thinking about it again, I guess it does make sense. I mean, I feel like there's not that much to stress about now, but there's the big project at work that's nearing an end and is my first big project, so I desperately want it to go well. I'm still getting used to having a new roommate. Still getting used to having no boy anymore. Furniture is moving around, I'm trying to figure out my new schedule and lifestyle, etc. etc. Plus, therapy and meds. I guess these are all stress inducers? Sometimes it's hard to tell because nothing is overtly stressful, and yet, there is much change going on, and I guess this is how I relax.

I need to make a calm music CD to put in my car, because I've found myself putting Vienna Teng's "Harbor" on repeat for half the drive home just to get my shoulders to relax and for that feeling of weight to leave.

Last night, after feeling tense, I did what any normal person would do and headed over for Greek food and Borders with [livejournal.com profile] fannishly. Didn't buy anything at Borders, but just wandering around stacks of books and flipping through them, just the aura of books was enough to make my mind slow down and relax. Truly it is what any normal person would do, I swear! ;)

It's very fun because [livejournal.com profile] fannishly is getting her room in shape, and the bookshelves all went up today. I kept popping in to ogle at all the new books within my greedy grasp, and just the sight of bookshelf-lined walls made me feel good. And now I'm going to knit and watch TV, because knitting is nice and soothing.
Tags:
oyceter: teruterubouzu default icon (Calvin and Hobbes comics)
I am not quite sure what to think of this book, particularly after I've read The Obsession. While I agree about things like not marketing fast food in school and making healthier foods more accessible to people with lower incomes, there are some arguments of the authors that bother me a little, except I can't quite figure out why.

The subtitle of the book pretty much summarizes what Critser is looking to convince the reader of, and in one of the chapters, he writes of loosening dietary restrictions, with the increasing trend of dieting books that say "it's ok to be fat" and argue that there are ways to lose weight without giving up high fat foods (Atkins!). He also includes bits like how clothing companies change sizes around so that size 8 gets larger and larger to make people feel better, as well as diet books that claim less exercise can be done to lose weight. This is the part that I was touchiest about. I don't enough about the science and the trends to know about what levels of obesity are dangerous to one's health, and it does seem to be a rather contentious topic these days. And Critser writes with a tone of voice that seems to condemn people for not just wanting to eat everything they want without exercising, but also with the viewpoint that people should really watch their weight.

Hrm. I mean, I agree... to an extent. I'm 130 lb. and 5'4". I say this because sometimes I have no idea if that's fat or not. This is because for pretty much as long as I can remember, my mom has been telling me to exercise and watch what I eat and lose some weight, with the exception of freshmen year, when I dropped to 115 lb., looked (according to my sister) slightly skeletal. I am really sick of being told to watch my weight and to watch what I eat. I know all the health reasons, etc. etc. etc., but for once, I would like to go home and have the first thing people say to me NOT be about my weight! Every single time I go home and meet people, invariably one of the first comments will be whether I have gained weight or lost weight. Not just with my family -- with almost every single family friend or person who has seen me the previous year. It drives me crazy. The culture of sitting around at the table and pretending that you have to watch what you eat when there's perfectly tasty food in front of you drives me crazy too. I like food. I hate it when people watch me scarf down a giant sandwich and say "wow, I can't believe you eat that much." I don't know anyone who is happy with their weight and doesn't want to lose some.

I mean, I can't say about everyone, but for me, Critser's argument that people just want to eat all they want with no guilt and no need to exercise feels like the flip side of this constant barrage of messages saying you must be skinny, you must be skinny, if you are not skinny, you are lazy and ugly and worthless, which is a horrid message.

On the other hand, I do agree with other points that he makes about the cheapness of fast food and the easy accessability of it and other not-so-nutritionally-wonderful foods to kids, especially in schools. I don't know enough about his entire chapter on the evils of obesity on the health to comment. But in general I figure it's usually better to eat stuff fresh. I don't know. I'm not really a nutritionist. I just eat stuff that tastes good, and I've found that for some reason I can start tasting this chemical aftertaste with some food, and so I've been avoiding those. And I do agree about the portions, because compared to Taiwan portions, portions here are huge! Of course, I won't complain that much because it means I can take home half of my lunch and eat it for dinner because I'm cheap.

Not much of a conclusion from me, except that I wish I knew more so that I comment more in depth on the issues that Critser raises.

Profile

oyceter: teruterubouzu default icon (Default)
Oyceter

November 2025

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
161718 19202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Active Entries

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags